Monday, June 2, 2014

Neo Angelique Abyss First Impressions

It's a boring little show but it sure is pretty
It took me 5 episodes to get into this series.  At first I really really struggling to keep interested in the show.  The first episode was especially terrible at keeping an audience.  I was determined to watch this show though, especially after finding Ruby Party's mission statement and pledge to keep their romance games clean and free of pornographic imagery.  I know it doesn't sound like something to be happy about, especially to Otome gamers that play the games for the romance but I am Mormon after all.  It's great to know that I can pick up any Neoromance title, get the shippy fanservice without having to worry about it being nasty.  I like my romances tasteful and respectful.
My best friend is a quin rose fan and we got into an argument during our tea party of who was better.  ( it was literally "QUINROSE!" "NEOROMA!" over the teapot) We were going though their website and realized that most of their stuff was rated D which turned her off real fast.  I was surprised at how much she actually cared about what it was rated.  Especially since we're planning a somewhat more T rated Otome game ourselves (OH!  I'll have to tell you about that later.  Maybe even post some of the concept art for it.)  ah, but I digress.  Let me tell you about Neo Angelique so far.

At first I was really upset with what they'd done with the world.  I love the angelique series dearly and have been playing the two specials on the PC-FX.  I'd grown attached to the world and it's lore.  Seeing guns and steam punk technology really made me go... eh.  I hate the cat especially just because of the voice it has.  at least make it sound like a cat.  Angie is very hit or miss.  She's the typical quiet heroine in these but she's starting to grow on me.  She acts a lot like snow white.  Another thing I didn't like was that they battle what are basically Onryou and impurities and Angie has turned into a Miko.  While I like Haurtoki, I liked angelique for it's own thing.  I liked her building worlds and looking after humanity as a god like figure.  She really got a downgrade.  As for the boys, I really don't like their designs.  None of them really appeal to me at first glance.  So far I'm liking Hyuga and Jade got really interesting on episode 7.
old tv effect and MAL!?
Speaking of episode 7, it's my favorite so far.  They connected back up to the original Angelique series with the dragons, which I'm glad they did.  I didn't like the dragon people at first but like this show, they grew on me.  Jade turned out to be an ancient robot found by the dragon people after an experiment gone wrong.  Jade makes friends with a dragon boy that looks a lot like mal, but his name is Kai.  After teaching Jade how to smile and feel emotions he ends up dieing from disease... how about that.  Just a boring old death by disease.  The group finding out that Jade was a robot whet a little too fast and it seemed like no one was really shocked.  We didn't even get to see Lain messing with any wires or anything.  That would have been pretty cool to see him take off and arm or open his chest plate.  Maybe they do that in the manga.  I'm going to have to read the manga now.  We do get a bit of fanservice with Jade.
Yeah... I think robo boy is my favorite so far. 
The animation is pretty good.  It looks better than La Corda, that's for sure.  The fight scenes are great and I haven't seen any wonky looking episode yet.  The show moves a bit slow but I'm starting to like it.  Hopefully it picks up in a bit here.  There was just a lot of nothing going on for those first five episodes.  I can't even remember what happened in them and I saw them yesterday.  meh, whatever.

No comments:

Post a Comment