Thursday, June 5, 2014

Angelique Twin collection

well... I saw the twin collection.  It's a lot of nothing but the reason you watch these is for the character songs.  If the last one didn't trigger memories of beyond the mind's eye, this one would have.  The twin collection is 8 episodes of the old guardians being buddies with the ones they introduced in special 2.  There's a character song at the beginning and end of the episode and these are here FOR THE FANSERVICE.  Well, some are more servicey than others.  Some are just painful to watch and others are embarrassing to listen to because of just how horrible they ended up.  most of them have great imagery though.
BEST
Every time Charlie is on screen I'm just laughing so hard.  It could be his voice combined with his antics he's just fantastic.  I guess his humor is a lot like mine.  He really lost his charm in the TV series which is really sad because he's just so fantastic.  Where did all this silliness go?  I was so sure that he was going to have a gag song with cute little visuals but then BAM. FANSERVICE  Whoa there Charles, where did all this charm and appeal come from.  Why is there so much service!?  Where are your clothes young man. Uhh, how long are we going to sit on this scene of him breathing hard? I was not expecting any of this.

uuuuggg, I hate Sei-Lan so much.  I thought he was a huge jerk when I first met him in game and then watching him turn down Arino on that episode of Game Center CX confirmed it.  He's even worse in his episode but his character song.  The song is pretty bad but the visuals.  the FANSERVICE.  My jaw dropped when I saw this I was just... Stop Sei-Lan. wat r u doin!? SEI-LAN STOP!  It's like he's on a bed that's underwater. (" my bed is a pool and the walls are on fire.")  Of course the artist guy is going to have fantastic imagery but I wasn't expecting it to remind me of lyrics from one of my favorite songs.  All of these are hitting some real deep nostalgic nerves with me.  His song might be really bad but his singing actually pretty good, the fanservice and art references are why it's on the best list.

Luva's voice and appearance hit it's peak during Trois, I'm glad they took advantage of it. His voice and character design really went down hill in the TV series.  It's great seeing him being sweet and attractive.  What really impressed me were the visual effects and transitions of this segment.  It's seriously impressive.  Suddenly I like Luva.  Congratulations Twin Collection.  You made me like the two characters I hated the most.  Well, I don't think I'll ever like Arios but whatever.

Arios is still a jerk in my opinion.  I first saw him in the TV series, later found out he was a villain in the RPG I was playing and seeing him be a jerk to my Clavis here just arrrg. Go hang out with Sei-Lan or something.  Anyway his character song is hard boiled and trying to be dark and edgy.  heh, it's angelique and you're trying to take this seriously ohhhhhhh...  This is saucy.  woah there guys.  I'm still watching Angelique right?  I thought neoromances didn't actually have much romance in them but then there's all of this.

TOP PICK Victor is one of those characters that doesn't do much in the shows or games.  It could be because of the
age distance between the main girl you play as and him.  I know the team put him in for those 30 year old fans that make up the majority of the fan base now I swear.  Wait a second... the 30 year olds liked the game in the 90's, that was 20 years ago... they would be 50 now. All the original fans are in their 30's.  I guess it is a good idea to have an older candidate so you never outgrow the series.  Another point for Ruby Party.  His episode with Lumiale was really fun too.  Victor is just such a sweetie.  His character song though is like "Woah, am I still watching Angelique? This is epic."  His story is interesting as since it shows natural disasters overtaking cities and him flying around in jets.   The animation team on all of these were fantastic.  His singing was surprisingly good too.  It has a warm roughness to it.  I actually want to hear him sing more things because his voice is just so gruff and unique.  the angelique series was really at it's peak here and jumped the shark with the TV series.  Every one is just so likable in these OVAs.


MIDDLE GROUND
Honorable mentions would be Marcel for that one scene by the cage.  Not only that but he looks older to me. Ernst for the scene where he's looking at the ring and the end where it ends up at the bottom of a drink.  The other ones like Randy and Julius are just really meh. So Clavis is my go to guy in these games because he's most compatible with my sign and blood type and I can get him easier.  At first I thought he was all angsty but after seeing him snark at Julius I was like "yup, he's mine."  It could be my whole Hades crush kicking in too.  Maybe... Also, his hair is just so fantastic.  His ending in etoile where he kneels down with angie and his hair is all falling in the face, the animation of his hair is what really won me over.
His character song, I was really worried about because oh how serious he is.  The moment the song started I was like "Clavis, you've already won me over, you don't need to... ohhhhhh...."  His voice is just so deep.  Holy crap.  It starts off with CG shards of the crystal ball flying back together and music like that of beyond the mind's eye.  It was almost like I was watching a segment from that film.  I was shocked that I associated these two before this.  His song is a little anticlimactic with no fanservice.  Just him flipping over cards and walking up stairs dramatically.  Can I please have him show at least some skin? ah, who am I kidding.  He's on this list because of the nostalgia, the voice, the song but not for the visuals.


WORST
sorry zephel but you lose.  The song is just... uugg, you can tell his voice actor is getting pretty old and can't sing.  It was just painful. To watch.  The only thing that saves it is the scene with him on the ground.  
Oscar's and Olivie's  I don't even want to talk about they were so bad.  Though it was interesting seeing Olivie with his hand on the monitor like that.  You were close animation team, but no...
I'd have to say that Oscar wins for worst because his song doesn't fit, boring visuals and his singing voice is kinda meh.

No comments:

Post a Comment