Friday, February 7, 2014

HEAD TO HEAD: Fushigi Yuugi VS Harutoki

First off I have to give a disclaimer.  My personal opinions have been influenced by which show I've seen first, personal experience and over all feeling that I got from it.  One show may have more meat and meaning to it, while the other is one that I watch with my brain turned off.  What I will go off of is which one I feel more comfortable watching, which one makes me feel better and which one I personally like better.

We all have our go to snack.  For me, it's Andes mints.  I could just sit there and eat the whole bag without noticing, got to the store, pick up another bag and eat the whole thing again.  That's how Harutoki is for me.  There's no real plot, I hardly can tell how many episodes I've watched and I can binge watch it one week and start over again a week later.
When I was watching FuYu, it was like the first time I tasted Miso soup.  I was gagging with every sip but then the after taste would kick in.  I really loved the left over taste in my mouth so I would take another sip thinking it would get better and end up gagging again.  The whole time I was thinking "I'm either learning a great lesson and being culturally open or I'm going to be really sick."  While the Miso soup is healthier for me and has more substance, I've vowed never to venture into that experiment again unless influenced by friends who will also be partaking in the soup with me.  oh ho ho ho.

Both shows are romance based with some adventure and time travel involved.  However, the way that the romance was handled was different in each show.  FuYu focused on raw sexual emotion.  I really didn't get the feeling that the characters liked Miyaka for her personality or for her as a human.  It was almost as if they were written to just be constantly wanting her in their bed.  I felt that they had no respect for her.  Many of the characters forced themselves onto her without knowing how she felt about them and some even knowing that she didn't feel for them that way.  They were all fighting against each other in order to get Miyaka's goods and then the drama begins with her having to remain a virgin.  I have to admit that I was laughing so hard when Tamahome was crying when he found out she had to stay a virgin.  He was doing the hand thing too like "I want to touch her all over but.. IT'S FORBIDDEN."  It's like they were blaming her and saying that virgin-hood is a bad thing and you should just stop making the dudes suffer and give em the bits.

On the other hand, I feel that the relationships in Harutoki are more realistic. Every one RESPECTS her.  That's all I want in a romance anime.  No forcing girls onto the bed or holding back their arms to kiss them OR GETTING THEM DRUNK AND THEN TRYING TO RAPE HER. TASUKI YOU WERE MY FAVORITE WHY U DO DIS!? I don't care if you were under some spell or whatever.
The hot blooded guy of the group, Tenma, tells her how he feels, hugs her and then runs away awaiting an answer.  He doesn't force himself onto her or demand anything from her besides letting him be the only one to protect her.  These kids are from Highschool to College age too.  They are legal to go and do the woohoo (and yes, I know that japanese woohoo laws and american woohoo laws are different) and yet, they start off as guardians, then as friends, they start getting feelings for Akane and then THEY LET HER DEICED.  Tenma on the other hand, has the potential to be a rather abusive boyfriend.  He is really controlling, loses his temper easily and is ready to hit any one at a moment's notice.  What I like is that even though you feel obligated to route for them since she saved him from the delinquent lifestyle, you can sense that Akane knows that he could end up being a really bad relationship.
Heck, even the womanizer floozy of the group, Tomomasa, flirts with Akane all the time but treats her with more respect than anyone did in FuYu. He acts like a gentleman and doesn't demand she should sleep with him. GOOD JOB HARUTOKI! WAY TO BE!
me the entire time watching harutoki


The real question is though, which one is more realistic?  Is it a vicious cycle and every one believes that guys a like the ones in FuYu?  Is it unrealistic of me to want men to act like Tenma or Tomomasa or even Yorihisa?  Can I get a little respect?  Maybe it's where you live or who you hang out with?  The way that you're raised.  I believe that there are men like the ones in Harutoki out there and that the one's in FuYu are just a media driven image that we're expected to accept.

With all it's rape, self harm, and disrespect for the main female's wishes of who she wants and doesn't want in her body, Fushigi Yuugi slips to the very bottom of my list of anime.  I have no intention to watch it again.  Harutoki is on the very top, regardless of how much of a rip-off it is or how the plot never really progresses.  It makes me see men in a better light and realize that I deserve a relationship where I'm respected.  For this, I could watch it over and over again.  It's like sweet, sweet candy.


No comments:

Post a Comment