And now... a list of anime I'll never get the chance to experience
The internet is a fantastic and wonderful place. If you want to buy something, it is yours, if you need to know something, it's right at your finger tips... but if you want to watch something obscure and hard to find... You might not get that chance. Between scarcity and copyright laws, there lies an anime middle ground where OVAs, anime movies and specials go to die. Not to mention canceled series and projects. This is my list of shows that bring me grief knowing that I'll most likely never get to see them.
Anime Tenchou x Touhou Project
probably the clearest trailer you'll ever see
Meito Anizawa also known as the anime tenchou is a character that I've loved since I first watched Lucky Star and I still love it when I see him wandering around in other anime. His hotblooded flameball of a personality just gets to me. He's a mascot for a certain HUGE anime store called Animate. I'm starting to notice a pattern in my favorite anime guys. They're all that "go get em" shonen flame of friendship and loyalty type. It's hard to explain. I might just post on this later. On the other hand we have Touhou. A home brewed bullet oblivion game that consists of cute girls with magical powers that I'm pretty sure are also Youkai. I've been a fan of the series for a while now. To combine these two in a short OVA to celebrate animate's 10 year anniversary is just a gold plated idea. This is the first official animation for Touhou and many fans of the series have been anticipating this short. (and I mean short. It's said to only be 10 minutes long.) The bits that I can see of Meito interacting with the girls is just fantastic. Most of the girls are the very serious, no nonsense tomboy types and to have him being dragged around and smacked with parasols just gives me the squwees. It was shown live once at a convention in japan somewhere and is now lost to the abyss of time since the original creator of Touhou didn't want it distributed. It probably shows every once and a while at the actual animate store but I don't know. It may show up somewhere in the depths of the internet one day but I'll just have to wait. Here's the only trailer
Miraculous Ladybug
Chat Noir: why I wanted this series
Besides the Touhou x Tenchou cross over, this is probably the one I'm most upset about and it hasn't even been confirmed yet. a lot of the details about this french / Japanese series is under wraps and it's been a constant back and fourth between "oh, the anime series is still being made, they'll just have a CG movie first." and "Actually the movie is live action and the series is now CG because every one in FRANCE LIKED IT BETTER." (Which I don't understand since Wakfu is doing so well over there and it's pretty much anime styled.) I probably wont watch it because all of the charm that I was experiencing in the preview is just... gone. There is hope though. It could still be an anime series made by Toei. I'm crossing my fingers, but I know deep in my heart that It's a false hope. 2D animation outside of Japan is DEAD. CG and Flash are just so much more efficient, working most of the time with the character models like a puppet. Not having to worry about perspective and off model problems. I understand the appeal, but nothing feels like hand drawn animation. Here's the only preview.
just look at that face thing he does. GAH so cute.
Orpheus of the Stars /Metamorphoses / Winds of Change
released in the early 80's as a collaboration between Japanese and American animators, it was created to be the "modern fantasia." It was distributed by Sanrio (you will know this as the hello kitty company) and it completely flopped. It was set to disco music and was silent at first but had a voice over added to it later. It's said to have no plot, horrible characters and every one complains about the "american" look to all the characters. The movie doesn't even know what age they want it to be fore as they have a bit of nudity in it. I'm kind of an odd person that loves these kinds of animated movies. It has no ideas what it wants to be and who it's for and I don't care how bad it is I will watch the heck out of this when I find it. Here's the two known videos for it. trailor 1clip from the movie
Yousei Ou
I'm a sucker for 70's mangas and the style that they have. I've actually started collecting some of the more popular ones from the time such as glass mask and ouke no monshou. I found out about yousei ou from a tumblr blog that posts art from the manga and I feel in love with the art of this series. Just look at the elegance. The 70's style of shojou manga is most certainly an acquired taste though. The only clips or information I've found about this early 80's ova have been in russian. Poor shows when they're this old just get forgotten.
No comments:
Post a Comment