alright, now that I've settled down a bit, it hit me that if this was dubbed, it could have some major potential to be a hit here in the states. I'm getting a huge Hetalia vibe from it now and It's actually starting to worry me. Actually it's about a bunch of stupid beautiful men with a lot of power... it's pretty much hetalia in god form. First off I can see a lot of 14 year old girls attaching themselves to loki REAL quick. He seems to be the fan favorite over on Pixiv. I noticed there too that the quality and quantity of fan art doesn't match up with the new harvest moon games or blue sky even. Blue Sky has been a pretty horrible anime so far but the fans seem to be more... I don't know... devoted? Neoroma games have a more devoted fan base and some excellent fan art. They also seem older and weirder to me. -What I like of the show so far-
I like how the gods act a lot like what they're described in the mythology. Zeus is a jerk that does whatever he wants which would never happen here in the west. I like how They have these problems and that they're not completely perfect. I want to see all the magical boy transformations. The art still empresses me, I still love the music. The fanservice is fantastic. The humor is fantastic. I'm absolutely hooked.
-What worries me about the show-
Once those 14 year olds cling onto this series though, I don't know how I'll feel about it. It could be the hipster in me screaming "this is going to be mainstream, run far away."
It's funny that I'm fine with all the nudity and bums that the guys show off but I'm uncomfortable with Hade's crown of thorns. The symbolism is a little too close for comfort for me.
I'm trying to like Apollon but every time he speaks I can hear "pasta" in the back of my mind and it makes me angry.
Alright, lets try to think positively
If this show does get popular that will mean
-they will bring the game over and otome games will become the new fad! (hah)
-THE MERCHANDISE! unless it's not doing too well in japan then
-Selling these guys as keychains at artist alley will be a breeze... hmm, maybe if I do a little of that this year and get the ball rolling...
-THE COSPLAYERS! THINK OF THE COSPLAYERS (unless they stick with just the school uniforms. I have a feeling that I'm going to see a lot of those uniforms in the future.)
No comments:
Post a Comment