I figured since I love the Neoromance label so much that I'd give La Corda D'oro a chance. Well... it was actually the live events that they do that made me watch it. I usually don't like high school centered stories because they make me feel hideously old. As soon as I started Corda, it had that good ol Neoroma feeling to it. mmmmmmmmmmm soak that feeling in. Smell it, smells like reverse harems, angsty protagonists and stagnant romances. I don't know what I like so much about all the Neoromance shows and games (besides the neo angelique anime) but I just... I just love the ruby party team and all the stuff that comes out with the games so much. It just makes my heart so happy.
Alright, enough gushing about Neoroma and onto the anime.
STORY: Second year highschool student Hino attends a school divided between average students and music students. They kind of hate each other. Hino finds that she can see a music fairy named Lili who forces a magical violin that any one can play and somehow gets her into a concert competition for the top music students. (I have no idea how he did this. The deadbeat teacher seems to know about lili but doesn't ever say anything about it.) Of course she's all like "this is cheating being in a competition with a magic violin" and that's the whole conflict of the story. There it is. all the angst comes from this. Strap in, because there is going to be a LOT of angst. The other competitors are one shy girl and the meat of the show, the really attractive boys. mmmmmmmmmmm. meat...
THE GOOD
Most of the shows I've seen like this such as Yumeiro Patissiere have an over confident protagonist that has a big dream but little talent. I was worried that this was going to end up to be one of those shows. To my surprise, the sudden talent aspect was really interesting. The episodes flowed really well and I was watching one episode after the other.
THE BAD
The Angst of her having a magic violin and feeling like a cheater gets old REAL fast. Also, it's a neoromance anime so you know she won't end up with anyone.
CHARACTERS:
Hino is a really fun strong protagonist that is actually really honest. She had a bit more of a tom boy side to her than what I'm use to in a neoroma series. She reminds me a lot of Nozomi from Harutoki 3. Hot headed and very dedicated to whatever she does. She does get intimidated very easily and is VERY harsh on herself. There is character growth though which is nice.
Len Tsukimori was pushed really hard to be the main love interest. He's really distant and rude though. It's not a fun rude either. It's more of like he doesn't care much at all about anything and is really angry about it. He's got famous mom and dad issues and trying to live up to expectations whatever. He'd do something really shippy and then he'd say something really blunt and kill the mood. He's just... so bland. As he loses his rudeness he becomes even more boring mcblanderson. Hino eventually learns to shrug off his bluntness and many of the other guys joke about how he could at least try to put things a bit nicer. He plays the Violin.
Ryotaro Tsuchiura is the second most pushed for to be the main love interest. He stopped playing the piano around others after he was butt hurt over losing a competition and thinks the music kids are all snooty pretentious jerks... which is actually pretty true in this show. He and Len have at it a few times since len embodies everything he hates about the competitive music world. I understand what it feels like though to drop out of what you love because of prestigious art students but I don't get so mad about it. He's really hot blooded. When Hino found out about his secret love for music, he intimidatingly cornered her and told her to keep it a secret from every one. Sure he can be nice every once and a while, but I really didn't like him much. Obviously he plays the piano.
 |
| The style also jumped up in quality |
Kazuki Hihara (wait, TWO green haired, yellow eyed boys? you guys should know better!) Now here's my type right here. The super genki go-get-em type. What a cutie. Not only that but he's super polite. Ah, episode 6. He actually got the best ship teasing. How did that happen? What's even better is that he's super embarrassed about it and apologizes profusely. He's the only guy to actually admit that he was in love with Hino and even let it slip a few times to her. While he is the main source of humor for the show, he never comes across as stupid. He's just super passionate. He even has some angsty, existential crisis moments in the show about if he should continue music in college and why he's playing in the first place. After that he gets really cute and serious. Very interesting. I kept wanting to call him Randy for some reason... Anyway, he plays the trumpet.
Narcoleptic Shimon I MEAN
Keiichi Shimizu is here to fill the shota quota. He talks really slow and only reads, plays music and sleeps. He's cute, that's for sure, but that's about all he's got going for him. I didn't get much personality out of this kid, he was just kind of there... floating around. Like a ghost. Some on on the ruby party team loves little blond, curly haired boys. He also reminds me of a really slow Marcel from angelique. hmmm... yes... Ruby party, I think I've got you figured out. THESE ARE ALL JUST THE SAME CHARACTERS! they're just in different situations. I don't care much though because I love these characters and how they interact with one another. He plays the cello.
Heh, Shota Quota
Sweet, quiet
Azuma Yunoki, loved by his peers, smart and kind to everyon.... DID HE JUST THREATEN TO RAPE HINO!? HOOOOOOOOO What do we have here. I suspected that he was hiding something but the moment he face-heel turned I was a gasp because I was really expecting him to be the sickly prince type. He was so boring at first too. After he showed his true colors he escalated to one of the most interesting characters. Of course his problems stem from his rich family and crotchety grandma that really needs to find herself a set of stairs fall down. What's funny is that I just finished Harutoki 5 and he's pretty much a pretty boy version of Komatsu... who I also love. Why am I becoming attached to these abusive types all of a sudden? He hinted at raping her. why am I promoting this guy? He even admits to using Hino as a toy which leads to my favorite episode of the whole dang show. Episode 14. I hated this guy with a passion until 14 but then the sass kicked in and I couldn't help but love this guy. It could be that I'm use to extended family that work with extreme amounts of sass, snark and rudeness as if it were a trade. There's just something about the power struggle with them I guess. Also I just find the shot of him in the curtains the cutest dang thing in the world. just... just LOOK AT IT! LOOK AT IT. Silly two faced rich kid, get out of the dang curtains. Think about your family image. He plays the flute because he can't surpass his older brothers at the piano. Stupid grandma.
 |
| I mind |
THE GOOD
I love how the guys work off each other and each one besides narcoleptic shimon feel really natural with Hino as a love interest. They are all really deep characters with struggles and even the side characters besides her two bland friends are really interesting.
THE BAD
GIVE ME MOAR SHIPPY! I NEED MY SHIPPING. The whole time Hino is crying over how much she loves her friggin violin that I was expecting IT to transform into a beautiful man. That might have been more interesting. We don't get much of any kind of romance with these guys, especially after episode 6. It just poofed... into nothing. There it goes.
ART AND MUSIC:

This show... is hideous. The colors are just so.. I don't even know how to describe what I think is wrong with the style. The game looked fine, Kure's work in the maga was beautiful too. How did... what. I'm too lazy to look up what animation company did this but it looks a lot like why I hate the style of the newer glass mask. I swear, it was the same animation company. The colors are just so dark contrasting and globby and the shines. bleh! Why is every one look like they were rolled around in cheeto dust? What's with all the green hair? WHY DOES EVERY ONE HAVE YELLOW EYES!? It's not just the colors either, the way they drew the eyes, the lines, the hair. Everything is just totally hideous to me. I eventually got use to it. but then there's the animation. While it did have excelent animation even every one was playing instruments, watching these people walk... I just wanted to rip my hair out. Walk cycles aren't that hard, they're like the most basic thing you do in animation and here you guys are, drawing 24 frame hands playing a piano or violin and you can't get a character from one place to another without it looking like they're shuffling around in slippers.
Or it could be that I'm coming off of Sword art online and Hyouka.. I just expect such better animation... and color.
As for the music, it is absolutely beautiful. Just watch it for the music. Truly wonderful to hear all these classical pieces. I really wanted to look up a lot of these songs.
THE GOOD
THE MUSIC
THE BAD
THE ART (most of the time anyway)
TO THE SCOREBOARD
STORY: 7/10 While the magic sudden talent was interesting, the drama near the end really pulled a lot of the enjoyment out of watching the show.
CHARACTERS: 10/10 Very interesting, deep and flawed characters the go through development
ART 6/10 I just find it kinda ugly is all. I just have... I don't even know why I hate it so much.
BOUNUS: points for great music and getting me to look up classic songs
OVERALL SCORE
8/10 as much as I hated the art, I loved the characters and their struggles, especially with an art form. It didn't feel distant like other shows that focus on a talent. I felt like I could relate to everything. Each character got equal opportunity with the main girl and even she was likable. I really did enjoy this show but it needed to angst a little less and be a little more romantic. The character endings were really flat and played out exactly like the Harutoki endings where Hino says nothing and weirds you out as the guys say how much they love her. Maybe they were hoping you'd place yourself in her shoes? hmm.... Best episodes 6 and 14. Might watch again, but not anytime soon.