Monday, October 6, 2014

Neo Angelique Special: Nyx's Route

Jeeze, what a creep.  He's 26 forever, but just the fact that he's been around for over 200 years makes me really uncomfortable.  Well, It could also be the fact that I've seen the anime he had some really rapey scenes.  It got me thinking about if he's unable to die but can't heal miraculously.  does that mean that he's lost all his original teeth?  his eye site would be completely gone.  He uses a cane and has a monocle... which he says is because of a childhood injury but still.  This is like the demon / angel pairing that every one writes at one time.  It's interesting, that's to say for sure but it's like getting the hots for a grandpa.  EEEEEWWWWW... oh wait... I should probably take that back I have a few favorite old man characters that I find somewhat attractive.  I bet he smells like mothballs and medication though.
WHAT THE HECK IS THIS!?  This ending.  This is not Angie's room... That's not her bed, you see her bed in game.  She's sleeping on the far right.  That bed is big enough to fit ten people.  The more endings I unlock the more I'm convinced that they're doing the do.  These two are so doing the do.  How in the world did Nyx get so attractive all of a sudden?  what it with open white Victorian undershirts that are so umf!

So Nyx's story follows the first part of the anime till you reach the end.  You talk about how he can't grow flowers and have a lot of tea together.  You go to a ball and he speaks really low and rumbly to you. mmm...   He freaks out whenever you get close to water. You know, the usual.  In the end you just go and fight erobos like it's no big deal.  It was a little boring.  nothing exciting or different like Rayne's and Hyuga's route.
I know that there are different endings, I just don't know what to do to unlock them.  I'll just go through all the guys and see what happens.  Still no Roche though.  

Friday, October 3, 2014

Neo Angelique Special: Rayne's Route

Like I said, it's been a while since I've seen the anime, but I don't remember Rayne being so quite and sweet in the anime.  I thought he was the thrill seeking jerk that every show has.  The bad boy.  In the game though he was always very soft spoken.  Even when you were being attacked by monsters he spoke in almost a whisper.  I could recognize this voice actor anywhere.  He's my favorite.  and yes, this too goes back to my Yugioh days.  This voice actor plays Joey in the Japanese version and that's where I fell in love.
Rayne's art is a little... geehhh.  Some sprites are cute such as when he's suprised, his eyes really stand out.  Others though, like him holding his gun are really gross looking.  It's the hair.  Luckily the animated end scene and other sprites makes up for all that.  Nyx has some really scary looking sprites too.  I'm just so use to having really fantastic art in my Otomes that this one stands out as being really ugly. (not as ugly as quin rose though OH HO HO HO)  However, the art hasn't deterred me at all since I love the characters so much.  You see, other otomes are just "I wanna bang him.... I wanna bang him.  GET ME IN HIS BED NOW."  Neo Angelique though.  You really feel for these characters.  They treat you with so much respect and sincerity that even the little things like embarrassing Rayne in the conversations makes me unbelievably giddy.  They have these fears, flaws and stupid life choices that make them more believable as characters where other otomes, like the "shall we date" series are just flat money making eye toys.
I wasn't going to go for Rayne first.  I thought he was just the main jerk that the games always push on you, but then he got really sweet.  So soft spoken and reserved.  It was the voice that won me over.  I went through his route 3 times trying to trigger everything and I've missed 4 stills for him.  His story focuses on artifacts and his relationship with his brother.  In the game, Yorgo kidnaps you for you power, not Elenfriet.  During your adventures with Rayne, you find that he really likes Sailing and sweets such as apple pie.
Best part was when you find an artifact shaped like a ring.  Before you're lured into a trap, Rayne gives it to you and asks what hand to put it on.  I was so excited because I was like
At that point I realized that I really do understand more than I give myself credit for.  I didn't even need to think twice or question what it was that I was suppose to do.  no quick saving, no cultural boundaries, in that moment I understood all.  I'm actually surprised I recognized  kanji for left and right that fast.  GET THAT THING ON MY RING FINGER.
AND BAM!  
 Actually I was really shocked that they went for it.  I did it as a joke really.  Ring pictures like this really get to me.  (speaking of which, I should talk about the Harutoki online game soon.  Theres a few on there.  Oh Ruby party.)
The ending was super sweet, Angie and him are sitting in his boat.  Her in his lap, arms holding her tightly.  He's all nuzzling her ear over her shoulder
and it's just so.  GAH!  No kissing though.  I wonder if their policy covers kissing too?  can they not show that I NEED MY LIP TO LIP CONTACT!

He was such a different character from the show but now I know for sure I have to watch it again.
oh it's just so great to actually see her with some one.
SOOO GOOD.

Neo Angelique Special

I enjoyed the anime for this game so much I thought I would stop struggling with harutoki 4 and buy Neo Angelique Special for the PSP.  I got it for 13$ including shipping and it arrived in a week or so. (on a horrible day to. I was so happy, I cried.)  It's been a few months since I've watched the anime but because I watched the anime first, this ended up being one of the easiest otomes to understand.  I have a very limited knowledge of Japanese.  Id say I'm a beginner still.  However, I knew what to expect and I already knew the world and it's terms and story.  I suspect that they meant for you to watch the anime and play the game at the same time.
Now, as for the differences between the game and the anime is that the anime takes all the character specific events and compile it into one story.  Rune, Bernard, Mathias, Roche, Jet and Elenfriet are all secret characters.  I've met Bernard and Rune but have yet to see hide nor hair of the others.  (Roche, you get your tight little tush over here right now!)  These secret characters also have events and stills and I've managed to get one but I'm still trying to figure out how to go about triggering their events.  Another difference is that the anime is more fanservice-y... which is somewhat depressing but still, the character endings are delightfully fluffy and fully animated in the style of the anime.
The game works on a flag system.  you have to see specific events in order to get that character's ending.  That means you have to be at the right place at the right time.  This can be tedious.  Even checking every area over and over again wont guarantee you'll get your event.  This was my main hang up on Harutoki 4 but it's a lot easier here... (unless I get stuck on every character, but after trying to get Rayne's route 3 times, I finally figured out where I was messing up and finally got his ending... with 4 stills missing GAHHHH)
Unlike Harutoki that is chapter based, Neo Angelique Special lets you wander around the world map with your guy of choice.  This is easier because you wont end up triggering some one else's route on accident. (besides the secret characters that is.)
A long with this you get this little bingo sheet with conversation topics that you pick up around the world.  this is where you're going to have trouble.  It's nice that it tells you where to get these topics in the menu but some are like "Just wait for the event" and then the event never happens.  You'll have one topic just sitting there that you can't find that you need to get hearts.  The hearts are how you trigger endings and to get hearts you need to find that topic somewhere on the map or during an event.

How to get through this game with less stress

  • Do a hard save in different slots after every huge event.  It saved my butt being able to go back because once you reach certain points, you won't be able to get heart events.
  • Don't get distracted, decide on the guy you want at the very beginning and stick to him.  Sure Rune and the other guys will show up and try to get your off that path.  If you follow the first suggestion, you can go back and get these guys later, otherwise you'll ruin both routes.
  • Do check every area after main events, this includes going to the guy's rooms before dinner. Do requests last.
  • Quick save before going to areas after requests, these areas are where you get conversation topics.  While your answer to a question there might get you like points, only one answer will get you that topic.  After a point you will not have an opportunity to get this topics so keep track of where you've been.
Other than this, it's been an pretty fun game.  The art is a little... meh but you get attached to it after a while.  Especially their little dinner and fighting sprites.  They're so dang cute.
I just love all these characters!  they're my babies!  gaaaaaaa I love this series so.